The Girl Goes….Burgundy

April 25, 2011 at 10:00 pm 2 comments

My sister says I’m going through a pre-mid life crisis. That may just be true.  I’m turning 35 in less than 2 months and for some odd reason I’ve become obsessed with changing my hair color. I’ve had small amounts of gray strands on my head since I was about 26 years old. But as the years have progressed I’ve noticed more and more gray strands appearing.  It has started to bug me. It has really started to bug me. Not that I mind gray hair, I just don’t want it on MY head.  Thus began the coloring process.
 
 A few months ago I got a black rinse in my hair. That did not go over well. Not only did I look like a character from a gothic cartoon, but it didn’t cover up my gray. And since it was a rinse it only lasted for a few weeks. 
 
 
So, instead of going black, this time I decided on  a lighter color.  One day I left home with dark brown hair and, to my family’s surprise, returned as a blonde. I loved it. I got so many compliments on it. I looked younger, and it fit my complexion. But after  two weeks my roots started growing and my gray hairs crept back up on me. It looked tacky, just tacky.
 
On my next trip to the salon, I opted for a nice shade of sable brown. I went to my stylist with a picture of the exact color I wanted. She went in the back of the hair salon, mixed up a concoction and put it in my hair.  I emerged with a nice shade of burgundy on my coif.
 
 
It was far from what I asked for.  But I like it. I think I’ll stick with this until it grows out. Honestly, I like the blonde hair better.  But I’m scared to dye my hair back to blonde so soon. I don’t want to end up looking like Mr. Clean. So, for now, I’ll rock the burgundy and hope this color will continue to cover my silver strands. I am far too young and far too cute too have gray hair.
 
To read more about my adventures with my hair click here and here.
Entry filed under: Black Hair, my attitude, my boring self, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Silly Out Takes From My YouTube Videos Motherhood Modified

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LaTonya  |  April 28, 2011 at 10:20 am

    I LOVE coloring my hair, maybe because in my younger days I was so afraid of it! I’ve had brown, light brown, and a really really blonde. Looking back, I can’t believe I did it. And I’m going to color my hair again this weekend.

    Like you, I don’t mind gray on someone elses head. I just don’t want it on MINE!

    Reply
  • 2. Wifey  |  April 27, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    You look FABULOUS, darling – in both colors!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Facebook Widgets
Powered By Vistaprint
Twitter Widgets
Powered By Vistaprint
Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

Represent
One2One Badges
Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

