Monkey Wears a Bra



Huh? What? I feel so removed from society. When did third graders start wearing bras? My daughter is only 7 years old and she definitely needs a bra. She takes PE now and she is equipped with a nice little gray shirt and burgundy gym shorts with her school logo on them. The class even has to go into the girl’s locker room to change- how cute for a third grader. But amid all the changing clothes and locking lockers, the little 8 and 9 year old girls exchange stories about their underwear– their bras to be specific. What colors they have, what store they came from, and how many they own.

And my poor little baby, who skipped 2nd grade because of her straight A’s and perfect score on her standardized test, and who was thrust into a class with lots of physically developed 8 and 9 year olds, has been left out of the conversation. She doesn’t have a bra, nor did I plan on getting her one. I’m not saying she didn’t need one. To be quite honest, I noticed little buds growing a few weeks ago. And she’s been asking for one since June. I hesitated getting her a bra because…….well, she’s only 7! And she’s my baby! My first born baby! SHE CANT WEAR A BRA! NOT YET! I’M NOT READY!

But, regardless of my feeble attempts to keep her from growing up, she WILL receive her very first training bra this weekend. I think I’m going to put it in a gift box and wrap it up in pink tissue paper with a beautiful white bow on top. And as I wipe the tears away from my eyes, I’ll hand it over to her and tell her the long, drawn out story about the day she was born. I’ll tell her about the many nights I dreamed of her long before she was born. Then she’ll put on her bra and think of all the stories she’ll be able to tell her friends in the locker room. After that, I hope and pray that we’ll spend the rest of the day watching Dora the Explorer and playing with Barbie dolls!

3 thoughts on “Monkey Wears a Bra

  1. That was so sweet Krystal. I applaud you for taking this milestone in her life in stride. She was a beautiful baby and she is growing up to be a beautiful young lady. The gift idea is awesome. -Connie

Leave a Reply

